Post the Twelfth

Pink

I took a shower this morning
I made the water hot enough
and scrubbed my body hard enough
that the skin
near immediately
turned pink with rawness

I tried to scrub the morning off
the feeling of unease that came with
loud tones and no goodbye kisses
as he left
for the next
fourteen or fifteen hours.

I ran my hands along the naked
pink skin beneath my finger tips
the rawness of me beneath my palms
while even the moments
of silence
while scrubbing made me anxious.

Pink, raw, shaking, and wet
I started off my day.

Leave a Reply

